It was built in 1826-29 without a dome (three-aisled basilica), but with a special place for women in Baroque-Renaissance style. The church combines wood and marble. The entrance and the temple are made of marble and the rest of the building from wood and pieces of gold foil. The roof is decorated with symbols of Christianity from the early years, like Α-Ω, Ι.Χ., Δ, the Cross and others.
The church was bombarded in 1943(23.10.1943) and the altar was completely destroyed . It was reconstructed in 1951.
Inside the church, visitors can see the famous icon of Dominikos Theotokopoulos (El Greco) “The Assumption of Virgin Mary”. The icon was painted in 1562-64, when Theotokopoulos was 19-22 years old and it is considered one of his first paintings. It is an art work of Byzantine style and it has been in the church since 1850. It was discovered in 1983 from the archaeologist George Mastoropoulos. It was cleaned and preserved by Baltogiannis.