At the back side of Ano Syros ,on a cool hillside near the “Fountain”with the fresh water and the huge plane tree , the small chapel of Agios Athanasios is located.
References of the chapel can be found since 1631, but it most certainly is older than that. In 1859, a second temple was built on top of the first one, bigger and more beautiful, but it suddenly collapsed on March 2nd 1946. In its place a new stone walled church was built in 1947 that stands until today.
Agios Athanasios’ yard is formed in such a way that offers visitors the opportunity of a lovely picnic under the big trees.